Colgaize82

By Colgaize82

When Enough is Enough!

Being quite fastidious in my approach to things, I can often find it hard to recognise when it’s time to stop flogging a dead horse!

At 10pm, I realised I was in grave danger of poking out both my eyes with a highlighter if I didn’t just call it a day & close this bloody laptop down.

I don’t mean to martyr myself here- I have had breaks.

I went to Booths & bumped into (not literally) an ex colleague who I always had a pretty good rapport with & it was nice to have a catch up & a laugh with her.

I also drove to an outlying village to drop flowers & a card off to a lovely friend for her birthday. It was too wet to sit in her garden so we sat at opposite ends of her dining room (which opens out, onto her garden) & we had a great chat & a good laugh as she helped me to put a few things into perspective.

Largely though, I have worked. The A level tutorials this morning went well- although each google meet has to be recorded (safeguarding) & this is then sent back to my e mail. I think I managed to watch approximately 40 seconds of it before I realised that when I’m thinking & talking at the same time, I actually go quite bog-eyed! I’ve come this far in a career based largely around talking to people & this minor detail, I never knew!

The problem, is that now my kitchen has become not just a kitchen but my classroom & office also, I could be in danger of finding myself constantly at work. Although, I’m not so sure whether this is just the nature of my work anyway & it’s hard to look back at the days of yore & remember what life was like, pre- lockdown.

Anyway, I would serve myself well to recognise when enough is enough- not just in work but in all aspects of life.

For starters, eating that 2nd bowl of Frosted Shreddies was probably quite unnecessary!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.