Light & sight

By CameronDP

Duet

I was going to try and do a cinema blip today, but then, while hanging around in the town centre, waiting for my film to start, I heard these two strumming away energetically and harmonising for all the world like a 21st Century street corner take on Lennon and McCartney. The song sounded familiar but Google failed me when I tried to look up the only chunk of the lyrics I (thought) I could remember ("I'll never beeee like the one....." strummity strum...) so I guess the tune will have to be remain a mystery. It was a good'un though. Heck, maybe it was their own song?
My film was 'Flight', a tragi-comic character study of an alcoholic pilot. I don't think it will be a huge hit but it's not a bad choice if you're looking for something that doesn't tick all the Hollywood boxes in an obvious way. It does, though, feature a crash likely to make any nervous fliers go a bit pale and sweaty. And I'll you what: Denzel W is looking impressively trim for a 58 year old. I hope I can still cut that kind of dash (on the distant day) when I reach his age...
I know a lot of people hardly ever bother, but I've been a pretty regular cinema goer for years and years. I think it's partly because I just love stories and characters and drama, and partly because of my late Dad who also loved the cinema. He used to take my brother and I to the pictures quite often when we were youngsters - I remember him having hysterics in the aisles with us at a showing of 'A Fish Called Wanda'. He'd also happily discuss things we'd seen or things he'd seen on his own in great detail. I recall him once recounting almost the entire plot of 'Mad Max 2' to us as we listened agog. Samurai films were another of his enthusiasms and I particularly remember going to see 'Yojimbo' with me old Dad at an art house cinema in San Francisco when I was a teenager. Made a big impression on me: lots of moody shouting in dusty courtyards...can't beat a bit of that!
My dad's favourite ever film was - allegedly - Humphrey Bogart oldie 'The Treasure of the Sierra Madre', but oddly I don't remember him ever him ever once mentioning that to me or my brother.
That's a lot of things I've just remembered!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.