FREESIAS ON FLOWER FRIDAY

I guess one of the good things about this lockdown is that it gives me plenty of time to take photographs and then edit them, if necessary.

I was up bright and early this morning, so decided that I would take a few shots of the beautiful freesias my dear Blip friend sent ten days ago.  Some of the flowers are past their best, but they still look beautiful, even in their decomposing state, so I set to work, not sure whether I would use a white or black background;  in the end, black won the day.

I have now sorted out the completely dead flowers, and put some of the little buds into a vase on the kitchen windowsill, where I shall be able to enjoy them, so still feeling blessed by the gift.

Those of you who sew might be pleased to know that I locked myself in my little room went upstairs and had a play on my new sewing machine yesterday afternoon.  I had seen a video on YouTube on how to make a face mask, so followed that - all went well until the material got caught up in the gubbins of the machine, but I was very patient and just pulled it all out and started again.  

When I spoke to my neighbour, Lynn, who had ordered the same machine a couple of weeks after me, she said she had had the same issue and found it was to do with putting the bobbin in the case incorrectly.  Anyway, I persevered and the mask looks quite good, although it was just a prototype and I will, hopefully, make a better one soon that can be modelled.  It is certainly much better than the previous one made from a sock!

It’s very cold again today and the sky looks rather threatening, but I will still go out for my walk a bit later.  Mr. HCB was delighted when it rained for most of the afternoon yesterday and you can almost see the runner beans climbing up his contraptions by the hour.  However, I do need to do some tidying in the kitchen, so think I had better do that first, otherwise it won’t get done because we still have afternoon tea with our neighbours at 4 p.m. every day.

Hope everyone has a great weekend - if you can understand the new rules, you may or may not be seeing some of your family.  

“Flowers always make people better, 
     happier, and more helpful; 
          they are sunshine, food 
               and medicine to the mind.” 
Luther Burbank

P.S.  Good result regarding the vegetable peelers - someone did write back and said that they would be with me as soon as possible and then made a lot of excuses as to why they were so late.  I responded and said they had missed the point completely - I was NOT paying £24.30 import duty and if they did not refund the money already paid, I would report them to our Trading Standards authority.  I have been told the amount was refunded yesterday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.