Fernando Cohen

By fernandocohen

At a bar

What are your thoughts on the state of photographic education as you observe it from the outside?
Now, that's very interesting, because it bothers me a good deal - what I see coming out of the workshops. I don't understand it. I understand least of all the feelings of some teachers, like Minor White, that you have to mix up the various ways of expressing yourself. For instance, Minor White would s ay you have to be able to verbalise your feelings about a photograph in order to understand the photograph. I more or less reject that. I don't think it's necessary to put your feelings about photography in words. I've read things that photographers have written, for exhibitions and so forth, about their subjective feelings about photography and mostly I think it's disturbing. I think they're fooling themselves very often. They're just talking, they're not saying anything. I don't like that.
Eliot Porter

Dialogue with Photography, Paul Hill & Thomas Cooper

Eliot Porter was a pionner of color photography. You can see his work here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.