HClaireB

By HClaireB

Bradenham

We got our long walk today - in the hills and woods surrouding the National Trust village of Bradenham.  It was an Anglo-Saxon village in the Domesday Book, and the church, St Botolf,  was originally Norman, although restored by the Victorians.  The 17th century manor house next door was an early home of Benjamin Disraeli before he bought Hughenden Manor nearby, which is also now National Trust.

There were quite a lot of dog walkers but it's a huge network of paths, and it was so nice to walk somewhere different.  One meadow was full of orchids, I had serious orchid envy.  The extra is a pretty little flower I saw in the hedgerow.  Now I've looked it up I find it's quite common, but I've never seen it before - Bladder Campion, Silene vulgaris.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.