Desert Squirrel

By PolS

California quail

I photographed this male bird in our garden.

I first spotted him through the lounge window perched on a rock. I grabbed the camera, quickly attached the telephoto and headed outside. So as the light would be behind me, I approached from the front door, walked carefully around the house and as I got close, crouched down on the ground, creeping along slowly. I pressed the shutter for this shot at about the time he became aware of me and began shushing the chicks away, with a soft, repeated call. Then they all melted into the grass, the male shepherding them from behind, calling softly all the while.

Quails have become more noticeable in our garden lately. Last night I caught one having a dust bath on the other side of the house. The light was good then, but today was better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.