Life in Canada

By MissMacPic

Drama

I am late blipping and I really need to go to bed!  I was having a very hard time choosing my favourite photo from the sequence I took so I am blipping four of the 27 photos I took.

I was waiting for Kanga and Roo2 to appear when a group of bathing  Canada Geese showed up instead. I had fun taking photos of their antics as they splashed and rolled in the water.  Then I heard the familiar sound across the marsh....Trumpeters on their way. They landed in front of me but then Roo2 went into attack mode (main blip).  He literally charged by running across the water at the geese!  Feathers flew and the honking was deafening (there were about 20 geese). 

Kanga stayed in place all puffed up but when she spotted two geese behind me, she charged them over land. Wild!  When she returned, she gave me a look at then trumpeted (extra).  It was so exhilarating to watch but if I did not know those two, it would have been terrifying.  I just wish I had a way to video and take still shots at the same time!

By the way, after all that, Kanga and Roo2 settled down and prepared themselves for the night.  As if it never happened...

You may have noticed, I now call her mate Roo2 because the organizer of the Trumpeter Restoration Group informed me that her sibling was called Roo, but he disappeared so assumed dead.  She thought it cool that I called her mate Roo, too. I decided to call him Roo2 instead.

Well, that is it for me....I need some sleep!  Going to go see if the Killdeer's eggs have hatched tomorrow  :))  Take care everyone!

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.