Porkybrown

By Porkybrown

Ash Attack

On my cycle ride today I began to notice more the state of the ash trees in the area. Under attack from Ash Dieback they are a forlorn sight.

One of the problems, I gather, apart from the monumental scale of any felling operation nationwide, is that it is impossible to tell from the outside just how badly decayed the inside of a particular tree is - and hence prioritise a felling schedule. This tree, which I don't think is ash as it's foliage is too luxuriant, is (relatively) safely out of harm's way in a field hedgerow and has has been left to it's own demise.  However, it looks to have suffered a similar fate to the ash along the route I took - and there are several large boughs of infected ones extending over the road - I wouldn't relish the idea of being under one when it gives way. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.