Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

1930s relic

I found this matchbox many years ago when I was sorting out my father's possession after he died.

Dad was a bit of a larrikin in the 1930s, working on race courses as a 'penciller' (bookmaker's clerk). Like all his mates, he was a heavy smoker. They didn't know then what we know now. He gave up smoking in his 50s but the damage was done. Dad died of lung cancer in his mid 70s.

My nose saved me. For as long as I can remember I have hated the smell of cigarettes. I was never tempted to try. I have mixed feelings about this relic of my father's life but I keep it because he valued it.

If there are any matchbox collectors within the Blipfoto community they might be able to correct me if I have the vintage of this box wrong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.