Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Another walk

We decided on a change for our walk this morning so drove over to a nearby nature reserve for a three mile walk round the lake.  The lake is a flooded quarry from which was extracted clay for the nearby brickworks.  When I first moved to the area about 37 years ago it was still a thriving works and the ovens had a distinctive smell if the wind happened to be in your direction, but it closed several years ago and most of the tall kiln chimneys have gone.  There are still about four left and the landowner would like to demolish them too but there is a local campaign to keep them as a reminder of the industry that used to be here.

Being an ex-industrial site the reserve cannot be said to be pretty but I quite like it, and the plant life is starting to take over albeit slowly, given the very poor quality of the ground.  This view is across the lake to the wind turbine that was erected a few years ago.  I've also added an extra of the gates to a small building which I am guessing is an electricity sub-station or houses some sort of pump or sluice machinery.  I blipped it in my very early days of blipping and it is interesting to see it has hardly changed in nearly seven years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.