St Nicholas, Otham

As it was the weekend we were out on our walk by 7.30 in the best of the weather with clear skies and a refreshing breeze.

Today’s blip is of St Nicholas Church Otham at around 9.00am this morning. The first stage in a battle to save this building from being hemmed in by a housing estate was successful when an application to build 421 houses was turned down at a recent planing meeting. There’s still a long way to go until the threat is removed permanently.

I called in at the Co-op as has been the usual thing to do these last 12 weeks to pick up a paper for Doreen and us as well as a few things we needed.

It’s veggie Spaghetti Bolognese for dinner tonight so I cooked that before a wasted journey to Screwfix to collect supplies to construct a base frame for a brassica cage on the allotment. Part of the order wasn’t ready when I arrived. The minute I got back home a text pinged in to say the remainder of the order was ready for collection

I stood in line again, with about 10 other people waiting my turn. Everyone in the queue, including me had their heads down on their phone.

Goods collected it was up to the allotment to construct a base for the brassica cage from gutter down pipe and 90deg joiners. And, do you know, much to my surprise it worked. I now have a 3.2m x 1.8 base, holes drilled for the upright poles all ready to go when I get the replacement joiners for the poles.

Nice picking of strawberries to have tonight rounded off a sucessfullish day. (Apart from the fact that despite all mr tender ministrations I don’t think I’m going to have a pea from my crop or any broad beans from my second sowing)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.