An old Buckboard...

...sitting in the corner of a neighborhood man's yard. The buckboard is slowly being taken over by the weeds and grasses, becoming more derelict every year, but I like it's character. I walk past his house quite often, and being a lover of old things I really appreciate the items he has displayed in his yard. They're tastefully laid out, whether hung on a post or set on a bench--everything from old horse collars to old lanterns. Not all the people around him appreciate his love of old things, and in the past some of the items have been vandalized which I find abhorrent.  He's a gentle, elderly man, so every time I see him outside I tell him how much I love his yard, and he always smiles and says "I thank you kindly". 
I took a long walk this morning which was wonderfully invigorating--had to wear a jacket because although it's sunny, the temperature was a cool & breezy 54 degrees (F). I called my 95 y.o. aunt and talked to her for almost an hour--she's doing very well, and says they're letting her sit outside on the patio for a couple hours each day which "keeps me from going nuts being stuck in my room"! I don't blame her. I put in my order for groceries that I'll pick up tomorrow morning, did a load of wash, and talked Tom, who was planning on replacing the front brakes on his Prius by himself, into calling his brother to come and help him, which his brother did. When they came in the house after they'd finished, Tom sheepishly said it was a good thing I'd made him call his brother, as he'd never have been able to do it himself. Thank you to my favorite BIL, and thanks to Marlieske for her derelict challenge! Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!  :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.