Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

One more... since this is what I took a photo of today.
Finished this today as a test of the paper quality of my new mixed media paper pad. I covered the page with gesso, as it is a 'moist border' so the paper will not take all of the moist from acrylics, sort of. Then I added acrylics in different greens because I'd already decided what napkin and what stencil to use. The bird and the larger two flowers are from a napkin. The paper became rather bulgy after I added the acrylic paint, but it flattened down when it dried. That was a big plus! 
Today I changed some and added the purple paper, which was partly dried with tea leaves. One of the 'steps' in the challenge. 

Today I finally felt my strength return! And with it my mood rose. This afternoonI went to the supermarket and bought four soil sacks, containing 50 liters of soil each. I borrowed a cart and carted them home. I don't find them heavy at all, so this was no problem. The problem was that I left my brain at home... On these carts there're coin slots, because they're chained to each other. We have new coins in Sweden since some years back and as I put a 5'er in the 5 SEK slot I thought to myself that they haven't changed the slots and this new 5'er is too small... and I put it in anyway! And I had one of those moments... you know when you've done something stupid and you just... why? Why did I just do that, knowing it wouldn't work?
I went to a young woman watering plants in the smal outdoor garden shop and told her my problem. She reacted as this was totally normal and gave me one of these 'slot-thingies' in plastic to use. She said that hopefully the 5'er would hop out when I locked the cart again. Thankfully, when I was carting the soil homeward the ground was so uneven that the 5'er moved inside the coin slot, so when it moved close to the opening I could ease it out with a fingernail. When I came back with the cart, leaving 4 sacks of soil on my hallway floor, I got to keep the slot-thingy. She told me that everybody looses their brain in this heat. She asked me if I wanted a cold shower, but I declined. Told her I'd do that at work while the sprinklers are on and slowly pass the sprinklers to get some coolness. She told me she cools off by pretending she's got soil on her arms and do a 'rinse'. 

Tomorrow, my large tomato plant, my chilli plant and one of the cucumber plants - the one with little cucumbers already - I counted 4 today - will have new larger pots. Then I need to go search in the forest for large branches, and shorter ones, so I can make 'ladders' for my cucumbers to climb on.
Later this autumn, I'm replacing the aluminum frame on my greenhouse to a wooden frame, so it can't tilt in the wind. I'm also thinking of changing the plastic cover to a more resilient 'channel plastic' - not sure of the English name, but it's a sturdy two layers plastic with tubes in-between,. Perhaps a 'duct' is a better word. But, that's a plan for next summer. A bit expensive too, so I need to save up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.