Gelt Wood

After doing some more painting and another attack on my hair, I headed off to get some shopping but went the furthest I’ve been so far since lockdown. I’d been researching holy wells (of course) and looked at this area that I’d heard about but not been to before. I’d seen the Roman inscribed rocks marked on the map and decided to see if I could see them. I’m pretty sure this is one of them but am afraid this is as close as I could get and it was pretty precarious getting to this point. The path that used to give access up to this part of the cliff collapsed in the 80’s ... https://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/news/north-east-news/graffiti-left-romans-working-hadrians-17862638
There’s an extra of the cathedral like quarry. The chiselling of the Roman and subsequent workmen have left a beautiful herring bone pattern.

As I descended the Thieves Road (thought to have got its name from the time of the Border Reivers) I had company (extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.