Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

Superbowl Sunday

When I was old enough to still be reading 'My First...' ladybird books, my brother gave me a book all about the rules of an insanely overly-complicated sport. I just couldn't wrap my little child's head around the concept. But I loved looking at the pictures of the men in their body armour and helmets like some sort of futuristic spacemen / oldy worldy knights...

When I was a bit bigger, my brother gave me another hand-me-down. A white and red shirt with a massive 'SF' logo on the front. Again. I had no idea what it was, but I loved it.

Fast forward to 2002 - I'm 19 and 2 of my new floor mates at uni have just signed up for the Loughborough Uni American Football team. For the next two years, it's all they ever talked about, until I gave in to peer pressure and went along to see what all the fuss was about.

I got drafted into the team as a Defensive End, and within 4 games had made the starting line-up.

I. Was. Loving it! Then one night in a bar in town, I got asked a very simple question by one of the coaches:

"So, c'mon, who's your favourite team?"

I froze. I hadn't thought about that. I just loved running around and hitting people!

I started stalling - of course you have to have a favourite team! It's just what you do!

I looked wildly around - the tv was showing a game, but I couldn't see who was playing. Then I looked at the jersey I was wearing. Red and Gold. The helmets we wear were gold. As were the shorts (pants) we wore.

There was only one team in the NFL that had the EXACT same colour scheme.

"San Francisco 49ers!" I said.

"Ahh, they're s**t." Said my coach as he walked off.

And then it came flooding back all at once - The ladybird book with San Francisco hall of fame Quarterback Joe Montana on the cover, and the San Francisco tshirt that by brother had given me as kid, and now playing on an American football team of my own who's uniform is exactly the same as the 49ers, and whose cheerleaders were called "The Goldrush".... just like the 49ers!!

I don't believe in fate, but maybe this was just meant to be!

Ever since that day, I have been a massive 49ers fan - I've seen them play at Wembley, and I'm going to go again in October. And to be honest, they were s**t. At least over the years I'd been supporting them.

Until last year that is. With a new head coach there's been no stopping them, and so today, my beloved San Francisco 49ers will take on the Baltimore Ravens in the actual Superbowl!

I'll be there at 4am watching on TV, and I'll be there at work tomorrow trying to look bright eyed and bushy tailed!

C'MON 9ers!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.