Windmill 'De Lelie', Etten-Leur

'Lelie' = 'LAY-ley' = 'lily'

Maybe I should establish Windmill Wednesday?  No, because if the weather isn't good, then no way.  And anyway, I don't want to restrict myself.

And did you know that the miller of this particular windmill is just 15 years old?  I didn't.  His father was a miller, too, so he learned it from the start.  You need an official certificate to operate a windmill.  It's more than just a hobby.

Again, AW came along for the ride, and showed me another way to get there without having to use the motorway.  Not much sun, but that was okay.  After that, the scenic route back home, passing by a bakery first.

In the evening, AW was picked up by his bridge partner at the other club, and they went for a 3-hour session at someone's house somewhere in Rucphen, I think.  Nobody thinks the club will be meeting anytime soon as most of the members fall under the COVID-19 vulnerable category.  From what we've heard, not one member has fallen ill or exhibited even the slightest symptoms and everyone wants to make doubly sure it stays that way.  I am wondering about the café where the sessions used to be held.  It must be struggling at the moment as the bridge evenings were a steady source of income.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.