Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Sometimes it just clicks!

I've often posted photographs taken from this spot on Corstorphine Hill, Edinburgh, known as the Rest and Be Thankful.

But this morning on a diversion to extend a short stroll into more serious exercise, I discovered that a new signboard had been erected, giving some additional information about the spot.

I've read Robert Louis Stevenson's "Kidnapped" before, and indeed our son is currently studying an abridged text for his homework at present. So I was surprised to find that I was standing on the very spot where the adventurers Alan Breck Stewart and David Balfour parted after returning to Edinburgh.

Another literary allusion in a city which abounds with them.

As I'm catching up with blips after a very busy week, I can say that I had a very interesting conversation at the Edinburgh Tourism Conference with a representative from Edinburgh City of Literature Trust about their work, and I'm planning some blogs about books I'm reading which are set in Edinburgh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.