BowBelle

By BowBelle

A paddling of ducks...

A quick visit to the duck pond at Meriden this morning to give the birds some bread. This time I thought I would blip the ducks (mostly mallards) rather than the goose or Muscovy hybrid. Then I puzzled over the title for my blip - what is the collective noun for ducks? I know it's a murmuration of starling, a murder of crows - but what about ducks? So I Googled, 'Collective noun for ducks' and was amazed that there are so many, depending on whether they are on the ground, flying or in water - and each of these has several alternatives: a brace of ducks; a flock of ducks; a flush of ducks; a raft of ducks; a team of ducks to mention just a few. But my ducks are definitely in the water and so I chose my favourite - a paddling of ducks. It's not the best photograph in the world, but it does illustrate my point well enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.