Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Wild grapes

I saw these growing on my walk this morning.

These grapes grow wild among the trees here in South Carolina.   We call them muscadines or "bullouses".   They are really sweet when they ripen to a dark purple color and have one large seed. The skin is tough and usually we just bite the juice out then spit out the skin and seed.   They taste nothing like the grapes in the grocery store and really make fabulous wine.  There is a vineyard or two here that specializes in making wine from these grapes which they have adapted to grow on trellises.    I have had a few bottles myself!   

Unfortunately in the wild, the birds always seem to get the best grapes!!  Or the squirrels and maybe the deer if the vine is growing low enough.

A cool morning here as we wait for rain.  We need it.  I had drooping tomato plants when I got home from the mountains yesterday evening. Luckily they stood back up after I watered them along with every flowerbed in my yard.   Later in the week we will be in the mid 90s (35C)!!  Not looking forward to that at all.   

One year ago today was the day I broke my ankle.  I still have achy times but mostly I can walk and hike as much as I always did.   Determination to keep going to the trails paid off.   

Have a good week Blippers.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.