MonoMonday Challenge 334 - Hectic

Monday's can feel that way...

I love my work.  Though sometimes it can be frustrating when looking for a solution to a design or problem.  

My father gave me a book when I started my engineering career and the same time when he was winding down his.  It was a book published in house by GE and if I remember correctly titled, Cultivating Creativity. An interesting thing I do remember clearly is the statement that creativity can't be scheduled.  Every several years I will go back to the book to browse the chapters.  I try to remind myself that statement from time to time and I will tell it to others occassionaly hoping not to shorten my career to those who pay me for my creativity.  lol

I've been looking for a particular design solution for more than a week and had a followup Skype meeting with the client this morning. I didn't have the solution, which was frustrating to all of us.  I had to admit a temporary defeat and ask for more time.  I spent the afternoon organizing the design problem with a definition and challenges, and then detailed the brainstorming of the various ideas that we have explored.

Then I rode the bike trainer.  I've been putting off taking time to ride the bike over the past two weeks stressed about this project, but made the commitment to myself this morning that I would not let today pass by.  No new ideas, means time to walk away and let the mind roam.  

A series of ideas came to me after the workout.  shew! got the blood and oxygen moving again.  I think I can make something out of one of them.  This idea also builds on an idea first made by the client, and so that should help clinch it. 

Hectic - ps, we were watching a film together and I happened to notice the crimson orange streak on the horizon.  I ran to get my camera before the sun set.  I managed, more or less.

Thanks to laurie54 for hosting this month's challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.