Street smart

Work was frustrating today and I had moments where I really wanted to be in my Maputo apartment. The feeling was mitigated by a relaxing evening outdoors in the greenery. The air was clammy and it felt like rain was imminent. In Shropshire it was already lashing down according to Hannah’s live updates.

Shops are reopening and the media is full of stories both of hordes outside Primark, and of tales of workplaces where colleagues are separated by perspex screens and ‘safe’ distances. As with most aspects of the government’s lockdown inconsistencies, some actions that are now permitted make a mockery of those who continue to self-isolate as carefully as before. If I was a cynic, I’d say the government is deliberately sowing confusion to then hide behind the manufactured chaos and very slow recovery the country will make, blaming it on people’s interpretation of the rules. I happen to be a raging cynic, so yes, I’d say that’s exactly what’s happening.

These pavement paintings have sprouted up in Cambridge city centre, and I imagine have been done by a member of the public keen to see precautions continue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.