A new home?

I haven't  been able to see the grebe's nest which I blipped on the 6th June for the last couple of days. It may be that the reeds are obscuring it or it's possible something got to it. A mink has been sited on the river bank lately. Finger's crossed, but these little tragedies do happen.  
I did however witness a little episode on the river this morning which makes me wonder if a new nest is being built. My attention was caught by a  couple of grebes doing a half hearted courtship ritual. I've tried to photograph this ritual in the past but they are so coy about them that every time I raise the camera they stop, which is what they did again. 
I decided to hang around quietly to see if they would start again but to no avail. 
However I did see this little scene which I tried to capture in the extras. After a while the female grebe made her way over to a small group of reeds followed at a distance by the male. She then lay almost flat on the surface of the water with her beak pointing towards the reeds which caused the male to come closer and peer over her shoulder (do grebes have shoulders?). Once she knew she had his attention she turned around and gripped a waterlily leaf with her beak raising it out of the water and turning it over. I didn't have a clue what was going on but the male obviously did. He immediately swam around the other side of the reeds while she stuck her head under water surfacing with bits of weed which she passed through the reeds to him. I don't speak grebe but my impression is that she was showing him where their nest was going to be.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.