Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

Making Eye Contact

..with the adult female Beaver on the River Otter this evening.

It was a fairly last minute decision to drive to east Devon but being a beautiful evening clinched it.

Although I have known about this population of wild beavers for a few years I have never visited the area before.

I expected to have to wait until dusk before any chance of spotting one but at 6.15pm as I arrived at the river bank opposite the lodge, there were 3 swimming around.
I watched both of the adults bringing back sticks and several of the younger kits. There are at least 2 one year olds (one of them is in extras)and another couple of two year olds.
All of this info I gained from talking to a scientist who has been studying and filming the group.
I didn't think it could get any better ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.