Otley’s Well

I didn’t want work in my home or in my space today so a while back I booked the day off.

It ended up being a two swim day with a little hunt for a Well in between. It wouldn’t constitute a holy well but it would probably be classed as holy to any geologists out there because it was dedicated to the geologist, Jonathan Otley.

I’d seen an old photo of Otley’s Well at Keswick and so headed over to Keswick to see if there was any sign of it ... https://m.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=2071510053125096&id=100007983643425&set=gm.2046790952013983&source=48

Flood protection has meant a massive increase in the wall height so as you can see the Well has been lost but at least the old well head has been preserved in the new wall and I guess the outlet below is the outflow.

I headed over to Harrop for a swim and just got in and out before the heavens opened (extra) and then once back home my friend and her husband called on their way down to Ullswater for a lovely evening swim (extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.