More drama

I took this photo as it represents the foreign workers here. They often sit under this shady tree when they take a break from working. They’re in this garden along the beach every day.
I asked about my salary today. Can you come in for a meeting? Yes. With the new person. Why is he coming, I asked? I’ll call you my manager said. I arrived and the HR person met me. Then my manager and the new person arrived. The meeting started. I asked why the new person was there. The owner asked him to observe I was told. Then my manager explained that I can teach and examine on the same salary or leave and my salary for June will be paid for 3 days a week, less my flight, accommodation and visa. I wasn’t happy. Not a fair offer, the deductions are illegal, and besides I’ve done a lot more in terms of hours and level. I asked for clarity about my working week as I’ll be working Saturdays now. The meeting ended, the observer left. He said he could see the position I was in. After the meeting my manager told me to go to my Embassy because this wasn’t legal. She told him I would and said he was worried. I feel sorry for her, she’s not enjoying what she has to do, and I know she was being observed too. The staff are under the new person now, my manager has been told she’s not firm with us. I went and spoke to the new guy. He knows how unhappy everyone is, he’s had problems with his contract too. He’s hoping it’ll get better but already has Plan B. He offered me money if I needed it. I did a few bits then walked home. My May cheque hasn’t been signed, and June’s...
Exhausted and restless. My manager messaged, she’s resigning tomorrow and will leave Thursday. Sick leave was deducted from her salary, the owner doesn’t believe in it, and he’s making a lot of money.. She said this last week then decided she’d wait for something else. But I think she’s serious now. Only you know she says. Those remaining will be lost. I think the new person will be on their side, but nothing will change.
Too much drama!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.