Return to the North

By Viking

Garden delights for a miserable day

Wet and miserable day here today. Ventured out the door to the dustbin and that’s about it! Suits my mood which could also be described as wet and miserable :-)

The front garden was gravelled some time ago by our landlord and when sis moved in there was nothing but gravel. She built a flower bed out of old pallets which take centre stage here and in the four years I’ve been back I’ve added little bits to it.
On Sunday in lieu of open gardens the village is having a scarecrow walk. I’ve got three to stick in the garden somewhere (not home made I confess) but too wet to put them in at the moment. Did pull the Very small and sad looking Acer in from the sheltered side of the house to catch the rain. (I had planted it in non- ericaceous soil so wasn’t doing well!!) Have repotted in the right compost and hoping a bit of rainfall will revive it!
There is a surprising amount of colour in the garden this year. I bought a couple of trays of petunias (first time ever) and they’re blooming like mad and my geraniums from last year are blooming well. Now if only I could have coaxed the sweet peas to self seed and bloom! On the plus side some seeds have finally started growing so hopefully late summer blooms!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.