Mandy's photo journal

By MandyO

Lots of style...

We had another mamouth walk today. It's becoming a week-end feature, and I thought I might attempt to do all 24 walks in my Rambling for Pleasure Around Reading book over the coming year. I'm certainly looking forward to the Summer where the walks might be a little less muddy - which adds considerable time and effort (not to say risk of injury and embarrasment due to falling over) to the venture.

Today was Ramble no. 20, Barkham Church and the Coombs. Again, the start is not far from me, and I was delighted to discover the Coombs which is a fabulous wood. The walk took me through lots of different scenery, villages, farms, fields, and at least 10 stiles to negotiate - which is not easy with a dog on a lead, and a camera and camera bag slung around your neck!
Stiles date back in records to 770 AD, and it was noted in the 16th century that it was notoriously difficult to help "a dogge ower a style"! (www.nicholasrhea.co.uk).
We don't seem to have made much progress in that department do we?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.