Danksound's Musing

By Danksound

Kenya Pictures

It was raining when I got up and it rained until mid afternoon.  Eventually the sun came out but I had already decided to stay in so here are some more Kenya pictures from my childhood.
We went to Kenya by boat on the Donottar Castle from London to Mombasa on its way to South Africa in 1957 and we were the first passenger boat to pass through the Suez Canal when it reopened.  We weren't allowed to go on shore at Port Said as it was still too dangerous and then we sailed down the Canal and Red Sea.  I thought it was really exciting at ten years old.  From Mombasa we caught a train pictured above and in extras to Nairobi. 
While we were in Kenya we took a holiday with friends near Mombasa picture 3, and stayed in a villa in north of Mombasa in Malindi right on the beach and coral reef.  The extras by the villa with me and my brother and Picture 2 is a ferry which we took to cross a river near Malindi.
Such a long time ago but I remember all the places and names.


Day 94

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.