Plumeria

My 'original' Plumeria came home with me from a trip to Hawaii several years ago. When I was a kid in Miami we used to call them 'Frangipani'. Each year I take cuttings from my taller plants, get them started and then give them away as little gifts to neighbors and other friends. They have a delightful fragrance, not too strong and overpowering. 

Today we celebrate Juneteenth, commemorating June 19th, 1865 as the day that enslaved people in Texas were informed that they were free! This was two and a half years after Abraham Lincoln issued the Emancipation Proclamation which freed ALL slaves in the United States! There are several reasons, of course, why Texas saw fit to keep that all-important news from the people. Click HERE for the very interesting story. 
Thanks, BikerBear for continuing to host FlowerFriday! 
A Peaceful Weekend to You All.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.