a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Sisyrinchium striatum

Flower Friday: Sisyrinchium striatum 

Cathy tells me that this tall grass like plant is a sisyrinchium striatum - I had to describe it to her as I didn't know the name of it.  I've always thought of it as "the tall poached egg thingy" - don't laugh, I'm not a gardener.

I was due to have played my first game of golf this year today, but sadly it rained and my fellow golfers decided that golf in the rain was no fun.  I can't say that I disagree really.  

I've just realised that a year ago Incredibish and I were on Skye, on our North Coast 500 motorbike touring ride having spent a couple of days on Islay.  This year we were intending to ride through the Rhineland to Munich and beyond.  There's no point in wondering about might have beens, hopefully this time next year motorcycle touring will be possible again and our health and that of our nearest and dearest will allow it. I'll drink to that, at least I would if Cathy wasn't abstaining at the moment, and likely to look at me with a raised eyebrow (at the very least).

This is Day 5 of the game of hide and seek invented by John Finnemore for his radio comedy Cabin Pressure that my brother Brentastic and I are playing, his last blip was quite fiendish and I needed help to get it.  It is definitely starting to get a little more tricky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.