Ear Wax

"I can't hear a thing!", the heron seemed to imply as he scratched a claw at his ear.

I heard his primordial squawk long before I saw him swoop along the inlet landing on the ducks' nesting box. I watched from afar whilst he adopted the typical heron pose. After a while preening ensued, with contortions to reach the awkward spots with his very useful long beak.

Then came a spot of sunbathing in the heat of the evening sun, spreading his wings a touch to catch the breeze. Finally, the ear scratching began which I was fortunate to capture from my position obscured by trees and grass.

I placed the light coloured bird against deep shadow for maximum contrast and reduced the saturation of the green grass to avoid overwhelming the few colours in the feathers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.