Encounters

Flotterstone was packed when I dropped off A and Django, so I didn't want to take the chance of not being able to park at Ninemileburn for our rendezvous in the hills half way around her walk. So, I cycled out and, not having much of a lock or anywhere to use it [not that I've got much of a bike!], I called on nadinepierce and left my bike in her back garden after having a nice chat. I then lugged my out-of-shape frame up the Monks Rig - past the Font Stone (pictured) - arriving at the base of West Kip just before A and the dog arrived. Hanging out at the col, I was spotted by someone I knew from orienteering who was mountain biking with her family, and we all chatted for a while. I then had the joy of running down the Monks Rig for the first time in months! I'm not in condition to run down it flat out [Running downhill sounds easy, but needs strength to keep in control!] but it was so good! I met the family again at the bottom, and then I cycled home.

The Font Stone is the base for a wooden post used to indicate the route over the Pentlands from the Borders Abbeys to the central valley: hence Monks Rig.

What happened to the B/W challenge? Well I'm so Blip-focused that I never thought that I could use old photos! However, I took one today that I can use!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.