wrperry

By wrperry

Got It

I can't seem to get rid of the flocks of starlings and grackles that visit my feeders, even when I leave them empty for days.  I'm trying this new feeder, but haven't gotten the settings and seed selection quite right yet.  It's one of those squirrel resistant weight-based feeders, where the openings close when the squirrel grabs a perch, or the ring.  It also discourages larger birds, in my case the grackles and starlings.

The problem is getting the sensitivity of the mechanism right.  It's at its most sensitive setting right now, which is perfect for still allowing small woodpeckers, titmice, nuthatches, etc.  The problem is, no matter what I do, the larger woodpeckers are shut out.  And I feel so badly for this red-bellied, because he loves those yummy peanuts.  You can see that the access to the seeds in the holes is cut off due to his weight.  But his persistence paid off, and eventually he was able to pry out a nut.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.