Saturday, I think....

I made a(nother) Victoria Sponge this afternoon. My third in lockdown. I’m not given to baking but as 4 o’clock comes round with remarkable speed each day, a slice of cake with a cup of tea is something nice to turn to.
A few relics here. My hand mixer from four decades plus ago and my faithful Stork recipe book. Full of loose recipes and the odd grease mark.
I also did my run...early today while temperatures were lower. I replenished the patio pots with some fresh plants, and dressed another doll. Gosh, that job takes some while. Small is fiddly. Did some washing and tidying up too.

Meanwhile D has been at the dahlias again almost all day. They are slowly going to new homes/gardens but due to their rapid growth, some have had to be planted here. A happy day in the garden for the Head Gardener.

We watched a recording of the first episode of Tess of the d’urbervilles this evening. Looks to be a good series. I read and loved all the Thomas Hardy books a long time ago. I hope this dramatisation proves to be true to the original. We enjoyed fish and chips while we watched. No home cooking tonight.

Still light at 21.30 hours!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.