Limelight

I’m getting many marketing emails for ‘branded hand sanitising stations.’ It seems futile to religiously wash hands when I see crowds gathering outside of the recently reopened Futon Company shop. We’re all partial to some bamboo furnishings but with one hundred people still dying per day, is it an essential business? It’s a mark of the inconsistency in the current regulations.

Gugs mentioned an old colleague who I haven’t heard about for years as he’d messaged her on LinkedIn for a catch-up. One hour later my work phone rang and it was an elderly man looking for the same ex-colleague. It was a bizarre coincidence and turns out I inherited his old work number.

Everyone in Maputo appears to be blanketed and wrapping up against the cold as it’s the height of winter there and suffering from unseasonably low temperatures (a low of 12, which I didn’t have to deal with during the last winter). Dare I say it but this week I’d prefer to be in the UK climate.

Gugs and I visited our old teammate Rach in the evening. When she offered a selection of drinks, I opted for the Corona as I felt it was likely suffering from poor sales, and the fresh lime action is always satisfying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.