Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

Women power in the 80s

We finished watching 'Mrs America' last night - the story of the women's movement to ratify the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) in the US in the 70s. It was such a profoundly exciting and disappointing time. Disappointing because those extraordinary women didn't succeed.

Watching the series threw me right back into the 80s when we were fighting the good feminist fight over here. I was privileged to join a remarkable group of women in a 'Women in Management' course which ran over several months. It was life changing. It absolutely buzzed with feminist energy. The photos in my collage only capture about a third of the women involved. I know some of them went on to very senior positions in the public sector. Sadly I don't know where they all are now, but I'm confident they all made their mark on our society.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.