The jolly boat

I've blipped this little boat before, several years ago. It's slowly rotting away,  its wood decaying and the inside full of grass. All the copper nails are now an attractive green!  

It is a 'jolly boat', lowered over the side of a larger boat to get to the shore in shallow water. It still has the rings, prow and stern, that would have been used. I have a soft spot for it, it's such a shame it is being left to rot. 

Ruth and Jimmy gave us an enormous cauliflower so I made a big pan of soup with cumin, coconut milk and chilli in it. Excellent! Very filling too! 

In the afternoon I did a bit more weeding for John. Lottie was very good, sat in the shade on my jacket, and then we went for a wander along to the old boats. Sat in the grass, soaking up the sun, while she looked for wildlife! 

A good day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.