fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Father's Day 2020

A tribute to my Dad  October 25 1916---December 15 2001

A collage of my Dad when a child (he is youngest) with his brother , a few of him just relaxing at home ...with my mom and him for an old church picture they had taken for the church directory, one with myself and my older and middle brother, an army one--he wasn't very gung ho at all about the military, and some day I'll sort and find more that he would have liked.
  My Dad was the son of an arborist and he went into the family business with his brother and his Dad.  Hie love for trees was passed on to us all...his love of taking pictures passed on to me and also his love of gardening and playing baseball....he played catch with me all the time.  To my mother's dismay, he once announced..."mary clare is our athlete"...Mom didn't think that was proper me being a girl...??? sign of those times.  He loved his cousins in the country and he and I would ride out there together many times to the farm.  He took me snow plowing in the wee hours of the morning and had me stand at the end of driveways so he knew where to stop plowing.  He made homemade granola and was eager to share the recipe with me.  He praised me after I was part of a church panel back in the early seventires during the Vietnam War when what I said on the panel wasn't wha any other panel member said....my mom had not gone to church that day fearing embarrassment by me...but he walked up and praised me despite what his friends may have thought.  He loved to walk in the arboretum in the Cleveland area with me.  
    I miss you Dad....stlll love you with all my heart

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.