A couple of days ago in comments my mum was variously called a trooper, a star and amazing. That's not the half of it. Here she is celebrating her 89th birthday just before lockdown and here's another of her going snowmobiling with a broken arm 2½ years ago.

This morning I heard her get up then heard nothing more and thought she'd gone back to bed. I lazed for a bit, sent a couple of emails, had a shower then as I was getting dressed I spotted her out of the window at the end of the garden. The area of weed-ridden earth she cleared before breakfast was quite a bit bigger than this. (Do you know anyone else at all, in the whole wide world, who wears white clothes to garden?) It's absolutely fantastic to have a head gardener/labourer showing me how to do things in the garden. I am extremely lucky.

The reason she got started quite so early was that we then spent the day at my brother's. It's great to be seeing the family again. 

Apologies for lack of comments. Trying to keep up with my mum leaves me no time at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.