dreaming

By dreaming

A sense of loss

When I signed in to Blipfoto this morning, the first thing I learned was that blipper Admirer had passed away unexpectedly in her sleep.  I found myself feeling a powerful sense of loss that has followed me all day, and I've trying to figure out why that is.

Admirer was a lovely woman, but I didn't know her beyond exchanging comments and stars during my time on Blip.  Over time there have been many reports of deaths in the families of  blippers I follow and though I felt sorry for those who'd lost someone, it only rarely caused me to feel a personal sense of loss.  This is the first time I've learned of the passing of a blipper.  Why is this different?

I think it's because Blip is my safe and happy place.  We refer to the bad things happening in the world, but as to how they affect our lives.  We provide comfort, support and encouragement to each other.  We love and need each other.  We are a community, and when any one of us must leave, it's a loss for all of us.  So I've lit this candle for Admirer and all of us who felt her friendly presence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.