simisue

By simisue

AGASTACHE: Hyssop

When we lived in Michigan I grew AGASTACHE in my herb garden & remember it had a delicate flower, with a subtle scent.  The plant had an pleasing habit, & I really liked it.

When this delicate flower bloomed, in my California flower bed, it seemed familiar, but I did not remember planting it.  So I used my plant identification APP,  PICTURETHIS, & it said it is Hummingbird Mint, a variety of Hyssop.  I am not convinced that is correct, but discovered the leaves have a lemony scent.   I do think it is some kind of AGASTACHE. 

To give you an idea of of how TINY the flower is, I include an EXTRA
which shows this flower next to a red sweet pea.  This is a totally unexpected plant marriage, but I really like it.  My sweet peas are almost
spent, but this 1 branch found new vitality. 

Unexpected surprises in the garden can be wonderful. 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.