CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The cacti flowers all now in full bloom

I have to show these cacti flowers, the first of which I blipped two days ago, as they will probably have peaked by tonight and will shrivel swiftly. Cacti are one of those plants that can only flower when conditions are right. They must complete their flowering cycle rapidly as the likely extreme heat damages these delicate flowers. 

They are magnificent, and cacti have amazed me ever since I first saw one of my grandmother's weirdly shaped cacti suddenly come into flower for the first time in countless years. 

On Sunday I blipped the first flower which is the one facing away from the lens. The other flowers have each 'chosen' a slightly different direction to point their flowers in. They are on a speaker cabinet in our garden cabin behind these double-glazed and south facing windows in which you can see them reflected. Each flower probably has a diameter of about five to six inches.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.