Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Orchard Hills Patterns and Light Photography Hike

^ Yup, that's what it was called. It was a 3 mile hike with docents from the Irvine Ranch Conservancy. The name Orchard Hills comes from the avocado orchard. There were rows and rows of trees with loads and loads of avocados. I wanted one, but apparently it's a felony to pick one.

I took 186 photos, but only a handful had any visual worth. I don't know if my technique is off or if it's my camera. I'm not exactly sure what I need to do to improve the quality of my photography. My journal is filled with hits and misses. It seems that I don't really have a definite photographic style. There are blippers who have journals that stand out visually. Each shot they post has an impact. I think the goal of my journal has always been to document my life, but a secondary objective has been to showcase my work. They say art imitates life. Not all parts of life are beautiful, so not all parts of my art can be either. I guess not every shot of mine can be a masterpiece.

On the way back down on the trail I was chatting with one of the docents. We were just talking about me. On the way up, the docent was talking to Eric and his experiences, so downhill was my turn. Our talk was one of almost self retrospection and education. She was a very educated lady and her children all went to very prestigious private schools on the East Coast. I talked about my education goals and my desire to go to grad school. I always get insecure when I say what I studied in college and what my want to pursue in the future. I studied film (and media) and I want to get into translation. They don't quite relate, but I tell people I want to do film/media translation in the future. It was nice talking to her about my goals. She was a great advocate in higher education and it almost seemed like she was encouraging me to continue my studies. One day...

Just my thoughts on this Super Bowel (typo inteded :P) Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.