Roses

After our long walk yesterday we had an early night. I woke at 4 due to pain in the arthritic foot, so by the time I’d downed some paracetamol I was wide awake.

I faced about doubt my amateur dentist but I was hopeless. The filling just kept falling out and my tongue was coated in white gunk so I gave up and cut some of our lovely David Austen roses. The perfume is gorgeous.

I cooked for #3 daughter bringing Ella and Nathaniel. They played happily around the garden and on the garage roof. I hadn’t known they were coming when I did the food order so had to improvise. We had Malfatti as we have lots of spinach, with some sage butter, and I did cous cous with some onion, mushroom, kale and blue cheese to stuff the 2 peppers I had, with some asparagus. the kids ate it all. The last of last years gooseberries I made into a fool. As I had no cream I used custard. It was fine. As was the weather.

The children had challenges - run round the sand pit 20 times then do 10 star jumps etc but they weren’t tired of course, Nathaniel was sad he couldn’t sit on my knee and read me his new book.

They are all ensconced in the camper van for the night.

We have booked camper van pitches on a small site in Vale of Pickering with Sheila and Mike for 2 weeks hence. We are both self contained and will take all our food etc. We have found some walks we can do there so that’s a real treat to look forward to. It would be nicer if we could have eaten in local pubs etc but we are not up for that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.