Serendipity

I had a full day of meetings, back to back long chats with a range of different people. I was super impressed by the chairing of a particular meeting by somebody that I’ve never met before. I think I’ve definitely learnt some good tips.

The weather is taken a turn for the better and by about 6 pm I was able to lie outside for about two hours whilst I chatted to my brother and got him increasingly frustrated as we had a discussion about planning law. I think he’s learning some important lessons at the moment which will hopefully stand him in good stead for the future. I remember studying planning and land law at university and I have to say it was probably one of the most dull subjects I’ve ever learned in my entire life. Give me criminal law, evidence, contract, legal history, intellectual property, family or international law any time! You can shove tort (but I think that was to do with my lecturer!)

This is one of my lockdown projects and as you can see it clearly needs a little bit more work and sewing. The Serendipity reference is in relation to the fact that an eBay seller sent me the wrong shade of green. Amazingly though it seems to suit the Feathered ensemble very well, a match made in heaven.

It’s a very old vintage ‘Joule and Son’ hat from Market Harborough with a leather band in size 59. Another eBay buy. I had to remove the original brown ribbon as it made the hat smaller than a 59 (yes my head is that big). At one stage I thought I may have to buy a kettle just to have something in the house that produced a jet of steam. I had visions of reshaping the felt without the use of a wooden head!

I’m not a romantic at all but I love the final scene in the John Cusack/ Kate Beckinsale film, of the same name, where they introduce themselves to each other, in a rather formal way, despite spending the entire film looking for each other.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.