Lake Heron & Lachie

Its been a hugely long day, left home at 5.30, picked up my friends and drove through pea-soup fog then frosty gravel road conditions up the Ashburton Gorge to Lake Heron - a vast expansive area surrounded by snow clad mountains.  Later, we drove into another equally vast valley to Lake Clearwater and Lake Camp - I've driven probably close to five hours, taken over 300 photos;  I've made a quick selection for blip and put landscapes in extras.  
This is a shepherd that was moving a flock of merino along the road, we asked him how many, his answer was "only about 800"  Such a nice young chap, a man of the land, mid winter, snow on the ground and wearing shorts.  He was so obliging when I asked if he would mind hanging about while we took some photos of him and his dogs.  I thought he deserved to be the main blip.

I'm ready to crash and now off to bed.  Its been an awesome day, the weather was primo, the reflections ditto...I have a lot of work ahead of me sorting the photos, but it will be a pleasant job.  Amazing country.

Added another new Covid case today - after 24 days of being Covid free, today our total increased to 11.  What a debacle ... the mismanagement from our Government and officials continue to come to the fore.

Rainie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.