White tailed bumblebee

Yesterday evening Mr C was clearing more brambles and weeds from the area that we are going to put in a small nature pond. We then noticed around 20 bees buzzing around a pile of debris that he chopped back.

This morning he moved the pile near to the wall in the hope that he hadn’t disturbed a nest. However, they continued to buzz around the ground rather than the pile. We believe they have a nest in the ground. We were, obviously, oblivious to this and saw a hole further away that they were using. We really hope they find their way back in as all this area we (well Mr C) has been developing is especially for different types of wildlife to enjoy.

(Because I keep back blipping, I think I failed to mention that we lost one of Lucy’s bunnies during the week.  They were quite happy in their large pen on the grass but when I went out Beaux (the younger and dare I say pretty one) had died. Whilst I ran to get Lucy Mr C went out and said she was still warm and floppy so we tried to resuscitate her but sadly to no avail. I know I moan about them but it was a complete shock as she had shown no sign of illness or distress.... and of course Lucy is devastated.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.