GracieG

By GracieG

It Does What it Says on the Tin...

...so to speak.  This is a 'Thick-legged Flower Beetle', only the male has thick legs apparently.  My insect book tells me it frequents flowers and flies actively in the sunshine, and I can report it was behaving to type.
B and I went to Pensthorpe today.  This is the first day of their re-opening after lock-down.  They had worked very hard to make it as safe as possible and it felt good to be back there again.  Sadly, most of the wild flowers had gone over, it was a very hot day and the light was very contrasty for photos...but having said all that it was lovely to be back there again and most enjoyable.
I have added extras of a banded demoiselle and a foxglove that was under the shade of some trees.  I adore foxgloves but (unless it's me) I find them a particularly difficult subject to make a decent photo of. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.