Hardergrat

A bit of a late start, following a long leisurely brunch at the tent. Mr S wanted to do a ridiculously long difficult mountain bike ride, so I waved him off, and got the bus down to Interlaken Ost, then the next to Interlaken West. I then took the funicular railway up to Harder Kulm, no queues, no packed train. I took a few photos from Th Restaurant, but the climbed quickly up to the first peak, Wannichnubel 1535m. Walked steadily up further over lots of rocks and roots, with regular peeks down to Brienzersee and to the Berner Alps. Had lunch at the Roteflue, 1730m, with a superb lake and Mountain View. It was getting pretty hot, and the trees became thinner, near Horet, and it became a steep alpine meadow path. I dropped off the ridge at 1887m, I decided to give the Austmatthorn peak a miss, as there was only one more bus from Alp Lombach at 5pm, and it was already 4pm. What an absolutely super day out, I would certainly like to do that ridge again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.