D'aicí enfòra

By chaiselongue

The bee's knees

I've been seeing almond blossom in the distance for a week or so, and once near enough to photograph but it was blowing in the wind, so I was pleased this morning on the way back from the airport to find a row of almond trees and perfect conditions. Three large bumble bees helped by agreeing to pose too. Here's one of them.

The month while C was here has flown by in a rush of work, demolition, renovation, wine, food and laughter. He'll be back soon. Now I must get back to my work as I have a lot to do in the next few days. And Occitan class tonight. Saturday was the 50th anniversary of the Cymdeithas yr Iaith Gymraeg (Welsh Language Society) protest on Pont Trefechan in Aberystwyth that started the movement towards official recognition of bilingualism in Wales, and there was a commemoration there at the weekend. I've written a short piece about it in Occitan for the class tonight (full of mistakes that the other members can have fun putting right, I'm sure!). We're a long way here - maybe another 50 years - before Occitan gains the recognition that Welsh has in Wales.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.